Freephone information line: 1800 45 45 55

Coronavirus: Stay at home

Health information and advice to stop the spread of coronavirus.

It’s European Cervical Cancer Prevention Week (25-31 January 2015)

Wear or share your Pearl of Wisdom with someone you care about

Call Freephone 1800 45 45 55 to receive a free Pearl of Wisdom pin, the symbol of the European cervical cancer prevention campaign, being distributed for European Cervical Cancer Prevention Week (21-31 January 2015).

Free, regular cervical screening is the most effective method to reduce the risk of developing cervical cancer.

Women are asked to wear or share their Pearl of Wisdom with someone they care about aged 25 to 60, and remind her how easy it is to arrange a regular free smear test.

Ways to help:

  • It takes seconds to check when a smear test is due, register or change personal details or find a convenient smear taker at: or Freephone 1800 45 45 55.
  • Talk with friends and family, let them know they can check when their next smear test is due at:
  • If you use Twitter or Facebook, why not post a photo wearing your Pearl of Wisdom and let your followers know how important it is to have regular smear tests. It only takes a few minutes, is free and could save a life. We are using the hashtag #sharethewisdom to remind women in Ireland aged 25 to 60.

Here is some information about cervical screening and pregnancy.

During European Cervical Cancer Prevention Week, CervicalCheck are partnering with the Irish Family Planning Association (IFPA) to promote awareness about cervical cancer prevention. The Pearl of Wisdom is being distributed by IFPA to almost 20,000 women across the country.

Is cuid den tSeirbhís Náisiúnta Scagthástála é CervicalCheck
Bosca Oifig Phoist 161, Luimneach
Saorghlao 1800 45 45 55
CervicalCheck is part of the National Cancer Screening Service
PO Box 161 Limerick
Freephone 1800 45 45 55

Web Design by Webtrade

Is cuid den Rannóg Sláinte agus Folláine i bhFeidhmeannacht na Seirbhíse Sláinte í an tSeirbhís Náisiúnta Scagthástála. Cuimsíonn sí BreastCheck – An Clár Náisiúnta Scagthástála Cíoch, CervicalCheck – An Clár Náisiúnta Scagthástála Ceirbheacs, BowelScreen – An Clár Náisiúnta Scagthástála Putóige agus Diabetic RetinaScreen – An Clár Náisiúnta Scagthástála Reitiní do Dhiaibéitigh.

The National Screening Service is part of the Health and Wellbeing Division of the Health Service Executive. It encompasses BreastCheck – The National Breast Screening Programme, CervicalCheck – The National Cervical Screening Programme, BowelScreen – The National Bowel Screening Programme and Diabetic RetinaScreen – The National Diabetic Retinal Screening Programme.