Freephone information line: 1800 45 45 55

Coronavirus: Stay at home

Health information and advice to stop the spread of coronavirus.

Changes to the eligibility framework

(26 Feb 2021)

Following the introduction of HPV cervical screening in March 2020, and in line with best practice guidelines, the CervicalCheck Clinical Advisory Group and Senior Management Team has approved changes to Programme eligibility and recall intervals for certain screening categories. Changes to a new screening programme are very normal as we incorporate feedback from stakeholders in relation to the new algorithms or as new research is published.

The following are the changes approved by the programme:

  • Women who are on renal dialysis or pre/ post-transplant are now recommended to attend for annual screening.
  • All women (including those on renal transplant or pre/ post- transplant along with HIV positive and DES exposed women) will exit the screening programme at age 65.
  • Women over age 65 with no requirement for screening are no longer eligible for a test.
  • Women who have completed their required number of increased surveillance tests post colposcopy require one screen at a three year interval before moving to five yearly screening.

See here the new revisions of the HPV primary screening eligibility framework.

Is cuid den tSeirbhís Náisiúnta Scagthástála é CervicalCheck
Bosca Oifig Phoist 161, Luimneach
Saorghlao 1800 45 45 55
CervicalCheck is part of the National Cancer Screening Service
PO Box 161 Limerick
Freephone 1800 45 45 55

Web Design by Webtrade

Is cuid den Rannóg Sláinte agus Folláine i bhFeidhmeannacht na Seirbhíse Sláinte í an tSeirbhís Náisiúnta Scagthástála. Cuimsíonn sí BreastCheck – An Clár Náisiúnta Scagthástála Cíoch, CervicalCheck – An Clár Náisiúnta Scagthástála Ceirbheacs, BowelScreen – An Clár Náisiúnta Scagthástála Putóige agus Diabetic RetinaScreen – An Clár Náisiúnta Scagthástála Reitiní do Dhiaibéitigh.

The National Screening Service is part of the Health and Wellbeing Division of the Health Service Executive. It encompasses BreastCheck – The National Breast Screening Programme, CervicalCheck – The National Cervical Screening Programme, BowelScreen – The National Bowel Screening Programme and Diabetic RetinaScreen – The National Diabetic Retinal Screening Programme.